Madurai District

Madurai district is second largest in population of the 32 districts of the state of Tamil Nadu, in southeastern India. The city of Madurai serves as the district headquarters. It houses the world-famous Sri Meenakshi Sundareshwarar temple and is situated on the banks of the river Vaigai. Thiruparankundram is one of the major tourist place in the district. Aside from the city of Madurai, the larger towns are Melur, Avaniapuram, Thirumangalam and Usilampatti. It is an important hub for various film shootings.

Madurai District History

Madurai is called with various nicknames like

  • Athens of the East
  • Thoonga Nagaram (City that never Sleeps)
  • Naan Maada Koodal (City of Four Junctions)
  • Malligai Managar (City of Jasmine)
  • Koodal Managar (City of Junction)
  • Koil Nagar (Temple city) & etc.,

The main kingdoms which ruled Madurai during various times are the Pandyas and the Nayaks.

Madurai District Demographics

According to 2011 census, Madurai district had a population of 30,38,252 up from 25,78,201 in the 2001 census, for a growth rate of 17.95%. It had a sex-ratio of 990 females for every 1,000 males, up from 978 in 2001, and much above the national average of 929. A total of 313,978 were under the age of six, constituting 162,517 males and 151,461 females. Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes accounted for 13.46% and .37% of the population respectively. The average literacy of the district was 74.83%, compared to the national average of 72.99%. The district had a total of 794,887 households. There were a total of 13,54,632 workers, comprising 81,352 cultivators, 287,731 main agricultural labourers, 39,753 in house hold industries, 765,066 other workers, 180,730 marginal workers, 11,367 marginal cultivators, 85,097 marginal agricultural labourers, 7,540 marginal workers in household industries and 76,726 other marginal workers.

Madurai District Divisions

Madurai district comprises 13 taluks and revenue blocks, same names same boundaries. Under the gram panchayat system rural administration or the district is done by panchayat villages and the taluk headquarters. The revenue blocks are further sub-divided by firkas. the last three taluks, Tiruparankundram, Madurai West and Madurai East, were created in February 2014. The thirteen taluks / blocks are:

  • Thiruparankundram Taluk – 7 firkas
  • T.Kallupatti Taluk – 3 firkas
  • Tirumangalam Taluk – 3 firkas
  • Kalligudi Taluk
  • Sedapatti Taluk
  • Usilampatti Taluk
  • Vadipatti Taluk
  • Melur Taluk
  • Madurai West Taluk
  • Madurai East Taluk
  • Kottampatti Taluk
  • Alanganallur Taluk
  • Chellampatti Taluk

2001 census

In the 2001 census, Madurai district had only seven taluks:

  • Madurai North Taluk
  • Madurai South Taluk
  • Melur Taluk
  • Peraiyur Taluk
  • Thirumangalam Taluk
  • Vadipatti Taluk
  • Usilampatti Taluk

Madurai District Geography

Madurai District is bounded in North by Tiruchirapalli District, in South by Virudhunagar District, in East by Sivagangai District and in West by Theni District of Tamilnadu.

Madurai District Climate

The climate is moderate with no extremes. There are three distinct periods of rainfall:

  • Advancing monsoon period and south west monsoon from June to September, with strong southwest winds;
  • North east monsoon from October to December, with dominant north east winds;
  • Dry season from January to May.

Madurai District Tourist attraction

  • Madurai Meenakshi Amman temple
  • Thiruvathavur Thirumarainathar Temple and Birth place of Manicka Vasakar
  • Thirumohoor Kalamegaperumal Temple
  • Alagar Koyil
  • Theppakulam, Vandiyur
  • Thirupparankundram Murugan Temple
  • Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal
  • 1000 kaal Mandapam (1000 pillar hall)
  • Kazimar Periya Pallivasal
  • Gandhi Memorial Museum
  • Madurai (Rani Mangammal Palace)
  • Eco park
  • Kuruvithurai Vallaba Perumal Temple
  • Vaigai Dam (nearby)
  • Anaipatti Anjaneyar Temple
  • Kodaikanal (nearby)
  • Suruli falls (nearby)
  • Kutladampatti falls